What I did today–I scrapped!

1 Jan

Wow! I haven’t scrapped a layout since May 2011. Seriously. So today I decided to start the year off right and scrap something – besides a recipe card (haha, because since May that’s all I’ve done). Or at least try.

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Jan1-12

On the left you see my calendar page for January. This is something new I’m going to try to do this year. I’ll work on it throughout the month, add schedules, events and activities. Add some photos from the month. Then I’ll print it and add it to my “journal”.

On the right is my cover for my new journal! It’s going to kind of be a “me” journal, but I’m not putting any restrictions or boundaries on it. It will be what it will be. The calendar pages will go in there, digital art journal style pages will go in there, and anything else I decide to put in there will go in there .

Smile with tongue out

Now one thing I’m wanting to try to do this year is to not wait. If I want to do something, I want to jump in and do it. And today, that’s what I did. I printed out that journal cover page, got out the scissor and glue and got busy.

What inspired me was one of the new Sweet Shoppe Designs’ challenges for January – nothing like starting the year by jumping in head first! This challenge is the big one – the one worth 10 points! Want to see the challenge? Here it is:

SSD Pinterest Challenges

Ok, back to the journal! Here’s what it looks now!

Jan1-12

FindYourselfCover

General credits for today’s post:

calendar template by Jen Maddocks Designs

calendar’s main kit used is by Lauren Grier and Shawna Clingerman – 365 January

journal cover created using kit by Kristin Cronin-Barrow – Blank Canvas

frames in preview created by Nancy Comelab (retired)

10 Responses to “What I did today–I scrapped!”

  1. Susan January 1, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    you sound like me!! omg I don’t know when the last time was I’ve opened photoshop!!

  2. 867popcorn5309 January 1, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    It looks great! I’m hoping to tackle that challenge, too, but haven’t quite finished it yet. Congratulations on scrapping again- you certainly are talented!

  3. why'd i come in here? (kbean123) January 1, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    So pretty! How do you do it? Photoshop?

  4. mrshobbes January 2, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Can I say how excited I am to be with you on KCB’s CT? I love your project and your design style! Can’t wait to see how your album all comes together–that cover is just gorgeous 🙂

  5. stacey@Havoc&Mayhem January 3, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Looks really nice!

  6. Britt January 3, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Looks so pretty!

  7. dailydwelling (@dailydwelling) January 4, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    The journal is so pretty! I love the paper you used.

  8. Kate January 4, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    So pretty! I want to try that challenge, too.

  9. Star January 4, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    That journal is darling totally awesome x

  10. Darcy January 5, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    That journal is going to be awesome! Great way to jump back into being creative!

Leave a Reply

